Day 2: arrival, Bangkok

out the window

out the window

Sawadeeka from Bangkok!

But my taxi ride from the Bangkok airport to the hotel (about 25 minutes) was too  Amazing Race like not to share…

I followed all of the instructions not to take the rides offered in the airport, but to go out to the official taxi stand. I printed out the directions, in Thai, provided from the hotel’s website, since other than hell and thank you, I don’t speak Thai. I handed said pre-printed, responsible foreign visitor directions to the driver who, I interpreted to say, “yeah, but where’s this?”  Luckily I had also written down the hotel’s phone number (good tip if you ever find yourself on the Amazing Race) and showed it to the driver, who proceeded to enter it into his mobile phone while making creative use of the four lane highway. Luckily, it was about 10pm, and the highway was ours for the weaving.

Once he got the directions clarified with the hotel we did hit a patch of traffic, and managed to stay about a foot away from the car in front of us for longer than I was comfortable with. But I guess, when in Bangkok…

After we finished weaving through the traffic he began to talk to me, in Thai, to which I responded with my two words, hello and thank you. We both laughed. He then proceeded to give me a Thai lesson, having me repeat words and phrases after him, until I pronounced them right. It was great, except I have no idea what he was having me say, since there was no English translation. It reminds me when a high school friend gave me a phrase to tell my Spanish teacher, something along the lines of “Tengo pies de pato” which, loosely translated means, “I have duck feet.”

Perhaps now I can say it in Thai as well.

Laew phob gan mai (see you again, according to my Thai airways list of phrases)…

3 responses to “Day 2: arrival, Bangkok

  1. wasn’t sure why one of the words you knew in Thai was hell, but that probably did describe the taxi ride. then realized it was really hello!

  2. oops. That should have read ‘hello’ not ‘hell’ which I do not know how to say, yet, in Thai!

  3. the lack of the o makes the story better.

Leave a Reply

