inspired by elote

Last weekend at the festival de la mision I had some elote.   I guess technically what I had is called esquite since elote refers to roasted corn on the cob (with chili sauce, butter, lemon, mayonaise, and other condiments) and esquite is the same thing, but cut off from the cob and eaten with a spoon out of a cup.

Anyway, the point being, the elote reminded me of a slightly gringo-ified version that I like to make, based on my experience with elote. I’ve posted one recipe I’ve made before, elote de gringa, but it’s been a while, so I figured it was time for another.
inspired by elote

Last weekend at the festival de la mision I had some elote.   I guess technically what I had is called esquite since elote refers to roasted corn on the cob (with chili sauce, butter, lemon, mayonaise, and other condiments) and esquite is the same thing, but cut off from the cob and eaten with a spoon out of a cup.

IMG_1062aAnyway, the point being, the elote reminded me of a slightly gringo-ified version that I like to make, based on my experience with elote. I’ve posted one recipe I’ve made before, elote de gringa, but it’s been a while, so I figured it was time for another. Granted, I realize, I’ve changed so much I can hardly call this creation elote, but hopefully the ‘inspired by’ gives credit where credit is due…

inspired by elote

spinach leaves (raw)
fresh cooked corn, cut from the cob
mushrooms, cooked in butter, garlic powder, salt and a bit of beer if you’ve got it
red and orange bell peppers, sauteed but still crisp
cherry tomatoes, halved
feta cheese, crumbled
fresh basil, sliced
balsamic vinegar
olive oil
a bit of chili powder

Put spinach in a salad bowl. Whisk together oil and vinegar. Coat spinach with the mixture. Top it with cooked corn, peppers, mushrooms, basil, cherry tomatoes, feta and a bit of chili powder (to taste). 

Enjoy.

One response to “inspired by elote

  1. Joyce Dunigan

    Sounds wonderful!

Leave a Reply

