possibly the best bread I’ve ever made

A few days ago I was in the midst of making soup–a kale, potato, lentil, garbanzo bean concoction that was, I have to admit, so-so. However, as I was making the soup I had a thought–some fresh bread would be fantastic with this soup! However, at this point, the soup was within the eating range–which did not, therefore, permit bread-rising time.

I wonder if there is a bread I could make anyway? I asked myself (I’m pretty sure I didn’t say it out loud, but it’s possible). So I googled “no rise bread” and found this easy recipe. I modified it somewhat, so I will post my version here:

2 ½ C warm water
6 Tbsp sugar [I did not have sugar, so used Agave, about 3 T]
3 Tbsp yeast
2 Tbsp oil
6 C flour (can use white or wholemeal) [I used half whole wheat, half white flour]
2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder

Stir water, yeast, sugar and oil together. Leave for 5 minutes until it becomes frothy on top. [I left a bit longer and it didn’t seem to matter.]

Add flour, salt and baking powder. Mix well. Knead. [I learned to knead from my dad, who knew that he didn’t really do it properly. Either way, it seemed to work.]

Roll out if making a pizza base or shape for use as buns / bread / loaf.  [I made a round loaf.] Paint with oil or milk (if you can be bothered) [The first time I made this bread I did nothing. The second time, I coated it in olive oil. I didn’t really notice a difference.]

Bake at 200 degrees C for 10-15 minutes. [I don’t have ‘C’ on my oven, so I turned the oven to ‘4’ which I guess is about 400. I pre-heated my oven with the baking stone (the bottom of a domed round cloche cooker) in the oven. I cut a cross hatch in the top of the loaf. When the oven was hot I put the bread on the stone, then ‘splashed’ it with water to create some steam in the oven, which is supposed to be good for booking bread. Because I made a loaf and not rolls, it took more like 30-45 minutes to bake.]

When it came time to take the bread out of the oven, it was lightly browned and had the most amazing crust–so crunchy it was hard to cut the bottom crust, actually. I sliced a piece immediately (which was a bit tricky, as it was still very hot) and buttered it…yumm!

One response to “possibly the best bread I’ve ever made

  1. Pingback: the ‘christmas spirit’ ~ on sheet-mulching and incarnation |

Leave a Reply

