iona

This image is from Iona, an island off the west coast of Scotland. Iona was the center of Irish Monasticism for over four hundred years and is now the home of the Iona Community, which describes itself as a “dispersed Christian ecumenical community working for peace and social justice, rebuilding of community and the renewal of worship.” I love that description.

This image was created within the chapel building and is one of my favorites. I wound up using it as my ‘ordination image’ which was printed on bookmarks with the order of service.

iona window, Iona, Scotland
© 2003 erin dunigan

2 responses to “iona

  1. Martha McClarty

    see that ‘image’ every time I sit down at my computer – as that bookmark stands behind last row of keys next to Jack’s bookmark!
    love them, that place, and you. marfa

  2. I knew that image looked familiar! Better now with the information.
    Thank you~

Leave a Reply

